Broken Glow- Live Like an Animal Album Review

Posted: March 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

By Christopher Horton

a4279047283_2
Well, this is going to be pretty biased. Mainly because these guys are my friends, and IAMSOUND played a few shows with them. But I’m going to try to be as objective/honest as I can. After all, my favorite song of theirs isn’t even on this album. Which angers me. Now that I think about it, this review might take a negative turn. Start catering to my needs, Broken Glow.

In case you’re wondering what my favorite song is:

I try to annoy them into playing “Month of May” live as much as possible. It usually works. I’m convinced that if I keep doing this, it’s going to eventually make them famous, in which case I will take 10% of all profits because it was my idea to constantly play that song. Then I can quit my job and watch Rachael Ray cooking shows all day while I make lewd Lego structures.

In all seriousness…

Broken Glow’s appeal comes from several sources. One is, their sound is very unpretentious. This is straight-up rock music, without any posturing. But what seems unassuming at first, hits you like a ton of bricks later. The center of their sound is based on heavy blues grooves and memorable guitar riffs. Garrett Deming’s voice frames the melodies of the songs. Paul Burba’s drumming is solid and gets really busy with fills every now and then, however it never detracts from the song. Garrett played bass on the album, as well as guitar, with the exception of guest bassist Tony Bavaro laying some funk on “Sun Comes Up”. Live, they have Sara Clash ( who provides some vocals on the album) filling in on bass to round out the power trio. I’ve always been fond of any rock band that takes the trio path, as it can make you… or break you. Everyone in the band has to know their place, and fill it well. Luckily, Broken Glow has almost mastered this in their live show.

Just about every song on the album has the potential to be the lead-off single. But there are some highlights to the album.
The album kicks off with the heavy “Portrait of a Madman”. The descending guitar riff creates tension, that eventually gets traded in for groove on the verses. It’s these kind of songs where Broken Glow really shine, as they manage to write “darker” sounding songs without making them alienating or abrasive.
“Get Up” falls into this same category as “Portrait”. However Deming really stretches his vocal range in this one, hitting some impressive falsetto when the song comes back from a minimal break-down.
“Down to the Wire” starts off with atmospheric chanting, which is misleading considering how heavy and downright nasty the song gets later on. The down-tuned riffs hit hard enough to leave an definite impression.

But I cannot stress enough how important it is to see these guys live. Don’t get me wrong, the album is a great way to familiarize yourself with Broken Glow. But they really shine as a live band. They are playing this Thursday, March 5 at Pour Larry’s in City Market at the second annual battle of the bands. Come out for a great show!

You can follow them on facebook at:
facebook.com/BrokenGlow

And you can get their album at
http://brokenglow.bandcamp.com/album/live-like-an-animal

Leave a Reply

