Some Shit I was asked to Write About Ryan.

Posted: January 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

When I was asked to write something about Ryan Koch, many ideas immediately penetrated my brain. Perhaps I should write a small list of things. Observations that I feel make him unique. Not special or useful. Just Unique.

1. He smells nice
2. He is good with children and animals.
3. He has Impeccable fashion sense.
4. He has an unparalleled love for Motley Crue (this one is true)

I first met Ryan at the Rock House, where my band at the time was playing. Ryan was a serious mess of a person. Kind of like a homeless version of the singer from Creed. Now that I think about it, that guy IS probably homeless now. He shared with me his passion for his own band, Electric Park. Being a self-centered, self involved narcissist, I immediately offered to play guitar for his band on some tracks. He placated me with some ridiculous answer, which said “No thanks, loser” in a roundabout way. I almost immediately felt disdain towards him for dodging my act of subterfuge. In order to win him over, I would have to find another plan. Maybe show him my collection of celebrity mustaches. Magnum PI came to mind.
Over the years since, Ryan has somehow infiltrated my circle of friends. He shows up at many of the same places I show up. He is unaware that he is my nemesis. My Lex Luthor. Magneto. The Joker. That guy Spider Man is always fighting. I dont know, Im not a dork.
One day, he will feel my wrath, and kneel before me. He will realize that he is the living embodiment of those ASPCA commercials that are so sad. Until that day….bitch.

For reals though: Ryan has been there for me in so many ways over the past six years, it’s insane. He is always a phone call away from a favor, and rarely asks for anything in return. He has supported me through all of my musical endeavors. It has been great sharing the stage with him and his wife. Im proud to know him, and to call him a friend, even though our busy lives dont permit us to hang out as much as I wish. To say I admire him, doesnt scratch the surface. He is genuinely kind, and I know Im not the only person that feels this way about him.

It has been a real treat to watch is ongoing success in the community, and his professional life. He deserves it. He is a great father, husband, and friend. His good fortune is not luck, it is hard work and love.

He is an invaluable source to our music community, being a talented musician himself. He is an active part of our scene, and I have never heard anyone say anything negative about him. He goes out of his way through his radio show to promote the bands he loves and cares for. Using his radio show to help bands, He is also a mentor to many of us, teaching up and coming bands what to expect from the music world.

I can’t think of a better person. Well, maybe Brad Pitt. He does good things too. And The Gangam Style guy. What a catchy song.
11390059_10206823437882085_2917537788788907709_n10150787_10206823437682080_4026969186081656834_n

11154687_10206452822736938_7154694241089019931_o1499637_10202968695155926_1143540216_n

76743_1709757821352_6774766_n

Leave a Reply

